Ward House

Winter Solstice & bits

The official measurement is 27″; a depth that has not been seen here since 1995.  This snow was very light and powdery, good to sled in if you smoosh is down first and then use those plastic sleds that ride along the top of the snow.  I have an old sled with metal runners; not good for this type of snow.  Those older sleds scare me.

Yesterday, as the kids were sledding and I was keeping the fire, I noticed crows hopping around in the snow.  So pretty, this pair.  All the little tracks around the bird feeder intrigue me; one little sparrow was even bold (or desperate) enough to hop into the feeder whilst I was filling our outside wood furnace.  The Crow pair was in the tree cawing at me.  I wonder if crows need help to get through the winter or if they do well enough on their own?  Are crows a bird that I want to encourage?  This pair have been here for as long as I can remember.

Happy Winter Solstice!  For the East Coast it is the shortest day of the year and now the days will begin again to lengthen; a few seconds each day.  There is a slew of info on the web and in blogland so I will not copy it here. 

In past years, school was out the week of Christmas and they would not go back until after the first of the year.  This year they decided to have school today and tomorrow – not gonna happen cause of all the snow.  They now have two more days to make up.  *shakes head*  What were they thinking?

Before I head out, I wanted to share this Marilyn Monroe quote with you; there are several more posted here.

“I want to grow old without face lifts. I want to have the courage to be loyal to the face I have made.”

December 21, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Happy Holidays. :)I keep this MM quote on my FB and it is SO TRUE!I'm selfish, impatient, and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I'm out of control and a little hard to handle, but if you can't handle me at my worst, you sure the hell don't deserve me at my best.

    Comment by Meadowlark | December 22, 2009 | Reply

  2. wOW ~ 27 inches , that's alot of snow , bet the kids are enjoying sledding. I hope we see some snow this year , so the little ones can help make a snowman and Curious J can try sledding.~ Happy Solstice ~

    Comment by JoyceAnn | December 22, 2009 | Reply

  3. Amen!

    Comment by Annette | December 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

