Ward House

Its all about da feet

One pair of sock coming right up – they are finished!  An important lesson learned is to use one skein per sock.  Do not try to save yarn by starting the new sock with the remaining skein from the first sock.  Leads to an interesting pattern bruhaha as shown here.  Also, be sure of the same lot number.  The texture of these two socks is different, you can tell these were two different skeins.

My directions were not as clear on how to do the kitchener’s stitch to end the toe so one sock (on the right) I used this video…

The left handed sock I used these directions…

We went to Harrisonburg VA today for some shopping and I saw these – when did crosswalks become lime green and white?

December 28, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Stop by my house… you've motivated me to be brave!And yes, the pattern thing is wonky, but I bet they're warm!Happy Holidays dear friend.

    Comment by Meadowlark | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Ronnie loves wool blend socks so these are his new fav – he is such a sweetie. =)Happy holidays to you as well. =) And thank you.

    Comment by Annette | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. thanks for the tid bit about using the same skein…they are quite fun & uniquely yours! job well done if i must say…brightest blessings~

    Comment by faerwillow | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. I need to get brave enough to try some sock knitting. I do like my socks thick, so maybe fatter yarn wouldn't seem so scary! I do love the look of yours.

    Comment by Karen Sue | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. do not be fearful of the sock. =) Meadowlark and I both conquered 'da sock'. Youtube was a great help for me, being a visual tactile learner and all. Jump on in – the water is fine.

    Comment by Annette | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. I would have never thought about using a different skein. I would have done as you did and kept using the left overs! I think they look fun :)I must say I've never seen a lime green and white cross walk before. Different!Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | December 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

