Ward House

The kitchen

How does one celebrate the of learning to knit not one but two socks?  Why, tearing out the ceiling in the kitchen, that’s how!

It appears that the kitchen, beneath tongue & groove pine paneling and ceiling tiles, is tongue & groove oak.  We’ve decided to clean up the ceiling, add a fresh coat of paint, and leave it as is.  I am in love with the look.  In the meantime, you can see what it looks like right now.

We discovered, when renovating the room above the kitchen, that at one time there was a hole in the floor by the chimney.  Our theory was that this was a heat duct and that there should be a corresponding hole in the kitchen ceiling.  Well, when tearing off the ceiling tiles we discovered that it was a vent; the kitchen hole is still there!  Now the decision is to install a decorative vent or use some tongue & groove pieces saved from another project to seal the hole and then paint.  Whatcha think?

December 28, 2009 - Posted by | Knitting | ,

9 Comments »

  1. Hello Annette! I hope your Christmas was a wonderful one. Your kitchen renovations sounds like fun! It's always neat to see a project from start to finish. Thanks for sharing! As for the hole…hmmm…I'd be tempted to put in a vent, especially if it was over the stove or a work counter.Happy Monday!Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  2. Decorative vent.And did I miss something… were these socks done on two needles at the same time? I'm thinking I might want to try it, since I won't bother making my second sock and doing them at the same time might save me from the single-sock-syndrome.Yup… Decorative vent.

    Comment by Meadowlark | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. Looks like the decorative vent has it. =) Works for me!as for the sock, I did not work these on two circular needles, at the same time. That is a class I hope to take in January. These two were done separately on 4 dpn (did you catch the knitting lingo?). Muhaha. DPN by the way, is double pointed needles.

    Comment by Annette | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. Although we are on the list to have some bathroom repair/replacements done, the kitchen has started to call loudly. Original in the 70's when the house was built, I don't think it was built to cook in..:o).. trying to think enough ahead of the project to see what I want to do and where we need to change. Biggest problem right now it the drawers are starting to fall apart.. But the showerstall is on backorder and the vanity and mirror are getting replaced along with it. Isn't it funny how if you give a moose a muffin, he's going to want a glass of milk to go with it?

    Comment by Karen Sue | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. Karen, I can relate. The bathroom upstairs needs some drywall and paint to finish it off yet I cannot buy the drywall just yet. We have plenty of 1/2" but those walls need 1/4. The ceiling project came out of moving a wall and the fridge over 8". Keep me posted on those renovations!

    Comment by Annette | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. After I wrote that I got an email from my hubby at work and he said they call to say the showerstall has finally come in..did we want someone over to start ripping? I was afraid to say no, but we have 2 couples coming over on New Year's Eve and the kids may have friends over, too. Since it was already Monday and we had to firm up some stuff and then not knowing if they would work Th, but knowing they wouldn't Friday and that the bathroom stuff all has to come and go through our bedroom, so the king size bed will need to be set up in the living room or something, we asked for a Monday start, with any details to be discussed this week. That way I can have people Thur nite, sleep in Friday, then take down the tree, and get the stuff out of the bedroom into the living room, like the bed and nightstands by Sunday and empty the bathroom. Then I came home and the kitchen drawer was on the counter and it had completely fallen apart… of course it is the silverware drawer that is used 10,488 times a day! But the bathroom fix is in sight!

    Comment by Karen Sue | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. Oh, kitchen renovations. I feel like every room of my house is in a constant state of renovation- oh, wait- they are. I'm really wanting one room finished- but I can't decide between the kitchen and upstairs bath.Judy

    Comment by fullfreezer | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  8. congrats on the upcoming bathroom fix! *shakes head at the kitchen drawer* Isn't that the way it works?

    Comment by Annette | December 29, 2009 | Reply

  9. *laughs* Judy, I know your 'pain'. When I left for work this morning, Ronnie was framing in a pantry next to the fridge (in the old fridge spot). *shakes head* It is never a dull moment. =)

    Comment by Annette | December 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

