Ward House

Why do you write?

Last night I was thinking about this blog; why I write and how these words have changed since blogging began in May of 2008.  No, I am not going to stop the blog; just thinking about the information I share, if it is enough, the right stuff, etc.  After reading Jen’s post over at Woolgatherings, I realized that the content really does not matter (for the most part).  This blog began as an easy way to document and journal my little family’s journey into a simplier way of living, topics of interest, ramblings, etc.  A creative outlet if you will.  Family and friends who do not live close are able to get a peek inside. 

Not everything sees the light of day; some thoughts are too dark or disturbing or just need to stay out of the local grapevine – yes, I have a small local readership via Facebook.  =)  Perhaps that does not count as a readership as these poor souls are ‘forced’ to read because they are my friends.  Muhaha.  =)

I enjoy writing here and the input/comments that are shared.  My followers excite and inspire; when a follower leaves I wonder what went wrong; am I now boring?  not informative enough?  Am I investing too much energy into wondering why someone leaves? 

Thank you. All of you.  For hanging out with me, listening (or maybe that’s reading), commenting, and walking with me on this part of the trail. 

December 30, 2009 - Posted by | journaling

8 Comments »

  1. I don't write – right now.I would say that there are very few blogs that I read strictly for "content" – The Bloggess because she's hilarious and probably psychotic and a couple of embroidery sites – but for the most part I read because the first post I saw caught my eye and I thought "hey, there's a person I think I could like"… and they go in my feed reader to see where the friendship goes.Usually if I stop following it's because my interests have changed (not so many survival blogs these days, although a few who have become friends have stayed) and only once did I stop "following" and commenting when the person made a joke at my expense. I still read from time to time, but wanted to make it clear by stopping that they had hurt my feelings. Guess that didn't help you as far as wondering if you spent too much time worrying about it. 🙂 I've had one person ask why I stopped following the other day when I stopped almost all "follows", so you're not alone in that.Have I rambled on enough? Obviously, since my comments are so long, I really have no need to blog. 😉

    Comment by Meadowlark | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. I'll never leave you!I know I don't comment enough, but I do read. I enjoy your posts. And I too sometimes wonder why I keep mine going for what…5 years now? I think about it when I get into a funky mood. But then I do just what you did, I write about it. ahh. . . to purge ones soul.

    Comment by Phelan | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. Jen's blog is fabulous and always worth a visit, especially the post you mention.Respectfully, I disagree with the comment about content. I believe content does matter, both to the writer and to the reader. Who wants to read a blog that's devoid of interest; who has the time? Jenny Doh, Stampington & Co, and now Creshendoh, said she writes of the good and not the bad because there's already too much bad in the world. It's not her mission to spread bad, it is her mission to spread good. And she does a fine job! I include bits of the bad because it's life on the farm but I don't dwell on it; I dwell on the blessings and the good.Thee are a variety of reason people leave…over-committed, illness, their good will isn't reciprocated by return visits and comments; iow, too many reasons to list.I've met some fabulous people, in life, because of blogging. My life has been enriched because of blogging and, in a small way, I've been a blessing to others. It's made a tremendous difference and I'm grateful to Blogger for making it all possible.Happy New Yearfrom Thistle Cove Farm.

    Comment by Thistle Cove Farm | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  4. Your comments brought tears to my eyes – maybe it is just a hormonal time for me thus the weepy sound to this post. Thistle, you are right. Content does matter. I like Jenny Doh's mission; perhaps that is my unconscious mission. Too much nastiness in the world right now.Thank you, all of you, for commenting and hanging out with me. *hugs*

    Comment by Annette | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. Annette,I am flattered and humbled that my little post today helped.It's hard sometimes, feeling like we must constantly come up with something new and exciting. What matters, though, is what's in your heart, what's in your life? That's why we blog. To share what's going on around us be it professional, personal, or a little of both. Dreams and let downs, joy and sorrow. It's a outlet, a catharsis. At least it is for me. I enjoy reading your posts :)Happy New Year,Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  6. Thanks Jen. I am thankful to have found your blog. Have a safe and happy new years celebration! =)

    Comment by Annette | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  7. I love your blog, reading your posts are inspiring and love learning more about you and your life! Have a wonderful New Year!!

    Comment by Sherry | December 31, 2009 | Reply

  8. Thank you Sherry! I had to scoot over to you for a visit. =)

    Comment by Annette | December 31, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

