Ward House

When fear becomes real

Not the boggy man and we all see what is happening in the economy; the fear I refer to is when your major helper, chain saw operator, wood splitter helper and all around handyman goes down in his back.  Phelan has written many times about the need to learn certain skills necessary for homesteading.  Right now I am wishing that I had asked him to teach me sooner!  When Ronnie is healed, he is teaching me how to use that chain saw. 

Ronnie has been sore in his lower back for several weeks; we attributed that to needing a new mattress.  Yesterday we went out in, as it turns out, below 0 windchill to bring in some much needed furnace wood.  Now we have enough wood to last this week – that is stretching it.  Back to my story.  Tree felling went without a hitch and Ronnie was helping me maneuver a chunk to the wood splitter when he felt the pull in his lower back.  We were done.  He was able to hobble to the truck and sit.  That was about it.  Thankfully I had left the wood splitter attached to the truck so I didn’t have to maneuver that by myself.  Once loaded up with the other goodies (saw, gas, etc), we headed home.

Saturday and Sunday Ronnie has spent either in bed or a chair, moving very slowly, taking ibuprofen and icing his back.  We’ve watched several old movies, like Clash of the Titans and Sinbad’s Golden Journey.  I’ve crochet 3 potholders and finished another mitten.  Quiet times.  Considering it has been so cold, I am glad to have enough wood for now and to be in out of the cold.

Saturday, prior to Ronnie’s back going out, we had invited my Mom to come up so we could exchange gifts; she was visiting my sister in Bogota over the holidays.  We had much fun and received some amazing gifts.  I’ll blog about that later, and include some pictures.

Do not put off to tomorrow learning a skill that you need.  When the teacher is no longer available, it is too late.

January 3, 2010 - Posted by | family, heating, wood cook stove

6 Comments »

  1. Hope things improve at your house.I'm working on a earflap hat with hot pink braids. No mittens yet.It probably isn't the same, but I suppose I need to have Husband teach me to light the patio heaters by the hot tub. I'm deathly afraid of propane and if I ever needed to rely on it, I'm toast.

    Comment by Meadowlark | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. LOL Meadowlark. I so want to see a picture of this earflap hat when your done!I too share your fear of propane although to hang out in the hot tub, it is a small price to pay. =)I am afraid of the chainsaw. Does not bode well. *shivers*

    Comment by Annette | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. I've been there… with the lower back thing and I understand the wood part too. We heat with wood here in NC. I wish a speedy recovery, but know it might be longer. My best to you and yours up in Gods country, Bath Va.Dave

    Comment by David | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  4. I hope Ronnie is doing better. I'm right there with you about chainsaws being scary. But I guess I'm going to have to learn how to do it also… And thinking about it there are some other things around here I don't know anything about. Off to make a list.

    Comment by Yart | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  5. Thank you for the well wishes. He is better today; take enough ibuprofen and wear a back brace and one's movement options improve! =)Share your list when your done. I may need to add some of yours to mine.

    Comment by Annette | January 4, 2010 | Reply

  6. HEY DAVE! =) and welcome to the Ward House. Yeah, backs take so long to completely heal – every movement is supported by those vertebrae and muscles. Oy! Stay warm and well!

    Comment by Annette | January 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

