Ward House

It’s just nasty.

Earlier I posted about having a sore throat.  Well, it got so bad that swallowing was torture and there were other nastiness that made eating, drinking, talking extremely painful.  I drove 2.15 hours to my doctor in Charlottesville and she was shocked at what had happened.  It is not strep though she said it was viral in nature; not something they can treat though she did write a script for antibiotics (not going to fill) for just in case and a mouth wash to make healing a little more comfortable (not filling).  She said it needed to run its course.  *sighs*  Knowing that it is not bacterial and there is nothing that really can be done other than waiting seems to make it better, for me anyway.  I took several ibruprofen (which helps on the pain) and plan to just take it easy. 

In other news, since I was off for the day , I went by the ‘local’ community college and finished registering for two massage therapy classes that will start on Monday; health and anatomy – assuming my financial aid comes through.  Neither class causes anxiety as I had to pass anatomy to get my personal training cert so this’ll be a nice review.  The anatomy is Mondays and Wednesdays 6-8:50 pm (includes a lab), intro to massage therapy (health) is on Friday’s at 5:00 pm.  Why am classes?  Currently all my eggs are in one basket.  If something happens and my job is no more, I have nothing to fall back on other than waiting tables.  While waiting tables is good money, it is not as marketable as massage therapy.  Massage therapy is more inline with my dance/creative side.  I’ve noticed that since taking on more cerebral work and being outside and dancing less, my health suffers – see opening paragraph.  I have never experienced something like this before.   

I’ll keep you posted on that track.

January 6, 2010 - Posted by | economy

6 Comments »

  1. Oh no! I'm sending some healing vibes your way. Have any throat coat tea? I think that stuff does a pretty good job with some added honey.

    Comment by Kathie | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sadly Kathie, I do not – sounds like I need to get some. Warm fluids bring much relief so I'm just drinking tea. My mom gave us a bunch so I just close my eyes and pick a box. A new flavor each pot. =)*hugs* Thank you sooo much!

    Comment by Annette | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  3. I hope you get to feeling better soon, Annette! I used to get terrible strep when I was young. Torture to swallow is right! Hot tea and soup are the things to stock up on!I'm the same way. Since I've been working more and more in an office and getting out less and less, I can see a deterioration in my health. Funny how some people are programed for it and some aren't. I'm definitely in the NOT category.With healing thoughts,Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  4. Antibiotics fight bacteria, so just as well that you not take those for a viral infection. Garlic is both anti-bacterial and anti-viral. Finely mince a bunch of peeled cloves, put in a dish, and cover with honey. Let that set for an hour or so, and then swallow a spoonful a few times a day. Don't chew, just let it slide on down. Hope your family can stand the reek of garlic wafting about you as it starts to work – maybe you should just have enough for everybody, or keep your distance.

    Comment by Sadge | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  5. Thank you Jen – you are correct; some peeps thrive in an office environment. I am not one of those.Sadge, thank you for the remedy – gonna do that tonite. My family will learn to love me. =) and throw me in front of the vampires. LOL Do you have a remedy for razor burn?

    Comment by Annette | January 7, 2010 | Reply

  6. witch hazel? or aloe gel.

    Comment by Sadge | January 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

