Ward House

School days

I was excited about class last night – and I am still excited about the class.  =)  They did not scare me away.  Nevermind that I am 2 decades older than any of the other 4 people in the class.  At least the instructor, Mr. Meadows, who is a physical and massage therapist is older than me.  The other four people in the class have been in the program for about a year.

Now, I did hold a personal training certificate for about a year prior to leaving the hospital to work where I am now. This was three years ago.  That certificate expired.  While working for the hospital I ‘assisted’ the physical therapists with whatever they needed and then transcribed their notes; you would be amazed at how much you pick up, without realizing it, when in close proximity to all that knowledge. 

All that was shared to lead up to this – Mr. Meadows began the class with a 110 question test to see where we were in our knowledge base; a benchmark as it were.  This test was multiple guess and many of the terms were familiar from working with the PT’s but that was about it.  Would you believe I did not do any worse that my classmates?  Or at least the paper I graded (which was not my own).  Made me feel good about myself.  =)

Last night and periodically today, I have been reading through my book and refreshing on the planes of the body (sagittal vs frontal or transverse) and directions and positions.  Once that is down I will ‘consume’ movements (extension, flexion, etc).  Then there is refreshing on the skeleton.  It is all very exciting.  No, I do not feel intimidated, which is refreshing!  Oh, and the book shown here is the one the school bought for our class and it is the wrong one; this is the instructors guide.  LOL  I just ordered the student handbook as it has sample tests that I will need for study.  *whew*

January 12, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

3 Comments »

  1. Older doesn't have to mean anything…you can still run with the younger folks even if it is through sheer determination!

    Comment by warren | January 13, 2010 | Reply

  2. Warren, that is so true! My sister commented on FB that I bring wisdom to the table. LOL Never really thought of myself that way. It is nice to walk into something without being fearful about fitting in or worrying about what they would think. Talk about liberating!

    Comment by Annette | January 13, 2010 | Reply

  3. Good for you! It's always refreshing to find yourself up to par with the others in your class. Don't worry about being older. The last classes I took I was one of the oldest people in there. It bothered me at first, but now I look forward to going back 🙂 Maybe they'll think me wise ;)Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | January 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

