Ward House

Garden plans

Our garden spot is still under several inches of snow – a nice white blanket with a bird bath sticking out of the top.  While we wait, Ronnie and I have already begun to talk about what will go into the garden.  What do we eat most?  Well, the potatoes are about gone so those are a must.  We have touched the corn, even the cobs frozen in the freezer so no corn.  Beans are a hell yeah; black, painted pony, and bush blue lakes.  Tomatoes (eating & sauce), brussel sprouts, cabbage (we ran out of kraut early), pumpkins, butternut squash, acorn squash, zuchinni, and yellow crock neck squash.  That’s as far as I am for the moment.

In the main garden, I’d like to have raised beds along the perimeter in which to plant some of the pumpkins, herbs and flowers.  It’ll also cut down on the grass that likes to grow through the pallet fence.  Sadly, I was not able to get some of the old horse manure from the Homestead stable prior to the snow.   I am hopeful to have a load soon. 

Thank you, Matron of Husbandry, for the inspiration!

Last year we battled and lost against shield bugs.  Mother Earth News has available a pest search engine with which I found this little tidbit:

Small boards or shingles placed near plants provide a nighttime gathering place for squash bugs, which can be removed and destroyed in the morning. Other cultural practices which lessen damage from this bug include proper fertilization for a vigorous crop, destruction of crop debris, and growing resistant varieties such as Butternut, Royal Acorn, and Sweet Cheese.

The adults winter over in garden debris.  We were also visited by Harlequins:

 Because adults overwinter in field debris, plowing after the weather turns cold will reduce populations. Weeds in fields and along fence rows should also be destroyed. Varieties which show resistance are: Copenhagen Market 86, Headstart, Savoy Perfection Drumhead, Stein’s Flat Dutch, and Early Jersey Wakefield (cabbage); Green Blaze (collards); Snowball X and Snowball Y (cauliflower); Red Devil, White Icicle, Globemaster, Cherry Belle, Champion, and Red Prince (radish)

I had no idea there were so many resistant varieties; makes me wonder how many are hybrids. 

We still have a slew of seeds, thanks to my friend (and landlord), Mr. Bailey, ones I’ve saved from exceptional produce and then extra seeds from those ordered last year.  Companies I’m looking to purchase some of the resistant varieties include:

If you know something about these companies, good or not so good, please speak up!  

January 15, 2010 - Posted by | Gardening

10 Comments »

  1. I have been doing the same thing…inventory of what we have used and what I won't plant next year. I have 5 potatoes left but a whole pantry of jam! Great post, KimBTW Faceplant Follies is perfect!

    Comment by inadvertent farmer | January 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. Sounds like your garden is already in full swing! I'm deciding what I can plant thicker, and trying to figure out where to put more of things. I have a friend with a cornfield, so I don't plant that. I kind of failed with onions this year..gotta figure that out a bit.

    Comment by Karen Sue | January 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. LOL Now we fly through jam AND potatoes. =)Glad the wee one is ok.

    Comment by Annette | January 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. Oh Karen, the garden is full swing in our heads only. =) and I do need to add onions to this mix. Ours were gone before fall was over.

    Comment by Annette | January 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. Just gone through garden plans and found it to be great. It was nice going through your blog. Keep up the good work.

    Comment by Rose | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  6. So, I planted little onion sets and when I got ready to pull them, I had what looked barely bigger than the onion sets…Give me a little garden love here and what to do next year.

    Comment by Karen Sue | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  7. ~i am so eager to start diging and sowing seeds…this is always the hardest time…waiting patiently for the sun to return…i have been taking inventory, seeking out all i wish for in magazines and exploring many new ways of bringing brilliance toour backyard…must love being outdoors! sounds like you are off to a wonderful start…best wishes as you continue to plan away..tis so much fun! brightest blessings~

    Comment by faerwillow | January 16, 2010 | Reply

  8. Thanks for posting that info about the squash bugs , I'm going to add that to my garden journal.Just like Karen Sue , I didn't have much luck with onions last year either , I don't think I planted them deep enough. I've read that they needed to planted at least 4 inches deep. I just barely went a inch deep with mine last year and they didn't grow at all , still looked like sets when I dug them too. So I'm going to do more research before planting onions this year.We love corn , but learned a valuable lesson last year , don't plant popcorn in the garden with your corn , it will cross pollinate and ruin both :(~ Garden Blessings ~

    Comment by JoyceAnn | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. I asked Ronnie about your onions and he said there are several variables: type of onion, soil condition, location. The onions we planted in the same rows as the potatoes (a little companion planting) did not grow well at all. The onions we planted in their own little patch did very well. Onions are like carrots in that they need soil soft enough to burrow down. I hope this helps. =)

    Comment by Annette | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  10. JoyceAnn, I heard that about corn – cross polinating. We coordinated where corn was going to be planted with our neighbor to prevent that. We talked garden with her last night, telling her that we are not planting corn so she can plant what she wants, whereever. =) Our onions were planted 2" down and did pretty well. I will try 4" down and see if it helps.

    Comment by Annette | January 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

