Ward House

Ubuntu

It is amazing what one learns in an anatomy class – computer operating systems!  Ubuntu is a Linux based operating system that is hack proof AND it comes with an office suite, accounting, back up software, etc.  Did I mention that it is free? and hack proof?  Some of the goodies of a MAC without the price tag. 

Our IT guy, Nick, said that Linux is only for the techno savvy – we will see if I have enough of the savvy gene to make this work.  He reminded me that many printers do not have a Linux driver and to check it out prior to making the switch – HP does have a linux driver for my printer – Yipee!  So I am going give it a run, see what happens and keep you posted.

The finance program I am checking out is Grisbi.org and for backup, well, there is much discussion in forums about which is the better program – grsync or flyback.  Anyone out there have experience with these programs?  Or Linux in general?

I was looking at my ‘about me’ and wondered, how does this techno talk fit into living a more simple, sustainable lifestyle?  My reasoning is this falls into the techno sidetracks; even though the electricity used to run my PC helps to fund ‘the man’, the information available on the web is of great importance to learning new skills and building solar panels.  =)  Sound good?  

January 26, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Wow, this is beyond me and I work for an IT company 🙂 Of course, I just answer the phones. I let the guys in the back handle all the techno babble.You know, I think living a simplier life does involve technology. It can help us simplify many different things. I'm a bit of a luddite when it comes to new technology, but if it helps you, then it is part of simplification.Have a great day,Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | January 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. LOL I know very little tecno babble; just what I need to know to do what I want to do. I cannot talk bus speeds or tell you the difference between DRAM & RAM. It's almost like being a piece of swiss cheese – big, gaping holes in my knowledge base. =)

    Comment by Annette | January 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

