Ward House

My fav for you!

Many many years ago I bought a cook book, Once a Month Cooking by Mimi Wilson & Mary Beth Lagerborg.  My book looks different than the one pictured in the link and I do not know if the recipe I am going to share is even included.  I bought this at a time when boxed and canned food was the way to go.  This favorite, even for my girls, is Crustless Spinach Quiche.  There are only two forms in which my girls will eat spinach: raw and this recipe.

  • 1 – 10 oz package frozen, chopped spinach
  • 1 bunch chopped green onion bulbs (without greens)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 – 16 oz carton low-fat cottage cheese
  • 2 cups grated, mild cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 c crouton crumbs
  • Cook spinach according to the package directions, and squeeze to remove liquid.  Combine spinach, green onions, eggs, cottage cheese and cheddar cheese.  Put into a quiche pan or 10-inch pie plate treated with nonstick spray.  Bake uncovered in a preheated 325 oven for 1 hour, adding crouton crumbs the last 15 minutes.

Now this recipe is not, as written,  100-mile diet friendly.  Modify, modify, modify.

May 13, 2010 - Posted by | Cooking, recipes | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. ok this does look good…I’ll have to snag me some cottage cheese next shopping trip and try it!

    Comment by Robbyn | May 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Let me know your thoughts. thinking about it makes me hungry. Wish I had some spinach at home; we would have this for dinner tonite!

      Comment by Annette | May 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

