Ward House

Eggs

Getting ready for eggs of our own, I found this  Kitchen Tip relating to eggs.  In addition to posting several recipes, Sara explained the importance of room temperature eggs when baking – something I have read and ignored.

Eggs beat to a higher volume at room temp so your cakes will bake up better.  Another factor is that a cold egg won’t incorporate with fat like butter or shortening.

Who’d a thunk!

What I found especially helpful was, when separating an egg, saving the unused part (white or yellow) is as simple as freezing it in an ice cube tray.  Once frozen, store in a baggie in the freezer.  1 white (or yellow) = 1 Tbsp.

The hard boiled egg comment reminds me of a story that Grandmother shared about when she was a young and then older woman; they hard boiled eggs to eat as a snack.  Tastey!

June 19, 2010 - Posted by | Cooking | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I can remember when I was younger:-) my Dad would preserve our extra eggs in “Egg Glaze” in drum so we would have eggs when the cluckers stop laying.

    Comment by Marcia | June 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. I meant to say I live in Aussie land…….Marcia

    Comment by Marcia | June 19, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

