Ward House

Where did it go?

Still looking for my mind; what appears to be missing from society as a whole (or at least from those with whom I come in contact) is personal responsibility.  It is always someone elses’ responsibility or fault. Sadly my girls are famous for the phrase “but he/she made me mad” or “made me do it”.  When did we, as individuals relinquish control over our own thoughts and actions to someone else?  Yes, as a people we have relinquished control to the government and perhaps that has trickled down to our kids? And no, I did not get myself into trouble.  Just listening to people and having a ‘what tha’ moment.

Then, I read this post by Molly, of A Foothill Home Companion, about the definition of Humble and – wow.  My hackles were all raised in self-righteous bruhaha that humility had been pushed aside.  Read the post; it is not long and has some great photographs.  The phrase that felled me was. . .

I’m open to the possibility that I am wrong, but until proven so, I will continue to do what I think is right

Powerful words.

I leave you with this excerpt from Mary Oliver’s poem, The  Summer Day:

…I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.
I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down
into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,
which is what I have been doing all day.
Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?

July 1, 2010 - Posted by | Intentions

2 Comments »

  1. Very interesting and enlightening post. You’re so right. People don’t want to take responsibility any more. I’m guilty. Aren’t we all? But it’s nice to see that I’m not alone in my rantings over it.

    I love the quote and the poem. Thanks for sharing. And thanks for the kind words on my blog prior to my little hiatus. I’m feeling a bit better; just in the process of making some decisions that will definitely help the healing process in many, many ways.

    Cheers,
    Jen

    Comment by Jen Chandler | July 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Like you, I am guilty of the responsibility thang. *sighs* Humanity can be so challenging. =)

      Glad to read you are on the mend. =)

      Comment by Annette | July 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

