Ward House

Eat your weeds.

Tansy’s post about chickweed got me to thinking about what other wild herbs I may have growing in my yard/garden this year that may have a use other than for cursing.  After Googling chickweed I found this site and, whatdoyaknow, there are several!

Aside from chickweed, I also have common lambsquarters, common purslane (I think),  and prickly lettuce.   My purslane has purply pink flowers on that bloom up the stem.  Not very tall but very pretty.  Before I pick and eat, though, I am going to take a picture and confirm what it is.  Dandelions are easy and we have several growing now.  Perhaps this will be a good addition to tonites salad!  I found pictures of these beauties here.

Recipes for common lambsquarters can be found here with numerous purslane recipes here.  I’ll surf for more exciting herb recipes.  =)

Chow down!

p.s.  today Ronnie and I both packed lunch and I ate in the lunch room.  Missed having lunch with my honey; however, the savings sure felt good!

March 30, 2009 Posted by | Uncategorized | 2 Comments